Burrow leads LSU past Clemson

NEW ORLEANS — Heisman Trophy winner Joe Burrow set an NCAA record in the College Football Playoff championship game on Monday night, leading No. 1 LSU past No. 3 Clemson 42-25 to give LSU its first national championship since 2007.

The quarterback’s 4-yard touchdown pass to Thaddeus Moss put LSU (15-0) ahead 35-25 in the third quarter and was also the 59th TD pass of the season for Burrow, an NCAA single-season record. It was also the second touchdown catch of the game for Moss, the son of Hall-of-Fame NFL receiver Randy Moss.

Moss’ first TD came at the end of the first half from 6 yards out.

Burrow pushed his record total of touchdown passes to 60 in the fourth quarter on a 24-yard throw to Terrace Marshall Jr. Burrow ended up going 31 for 49 for 463 yards and five touchdowns while also rushing for 58 yards and a touchdown on 14 carries.

Ja’Marr Chase also had a big game for LSU with nine catches for 221 yards and two scores. Also for LSU, Justin Jefferson had nine catches for 106 yards, while Clyde Edwards-Helaire rushed for 110 yards on 16 carries.

Trevor Lawrence was 18 for 37 for 234 yards passing for Clemson (14-1), while Travis Etienne rushed for 78 yards and a touchdown on 15 carries. Tee Higgins also had a 36-yard TD run for Clemson, while Lawrence rushed for 49 yards and a touchdown on 10 carries.

LSU led 28-17 at halftime after trailing 17-7 in the second quarter.