Hancock Commission appoints members of new 911 board

MEETING — Hancock County Commissioner Jeff Davis speaks during Thursday’s regular commission meeting, held in the court room of the Hancock County Courthouse. -- Craig Howell

NEW CUMBERLAND – The Hancock County Commission took its next step in re-establishing a county 911 advisory board Thursday, approving a slate of members.

The commission dissolved the county’s prior board during its Aug. 26 meeting, citing inconsistent records, before immediately establishing a new board.

Thursday, the commission unanimously approved a group of 14 individuals, representing various areas of emergency services in the county.

“We have a list of members in our packet today,” Commissioner Eron Chek noted, explaining the board could receive additional members if the commission saw fit.

Those appointed are New Cumberland Police Chief Lester Skinner, Hancock County Sheriff Scott Gittings, Chester Police Chief Chuck Stanley, Weirton Police Chief Charlie Kush, Jeremy Ober, the county’s director of the Office of Emergency Management; Tracy Lemley, county 911 director; Gerard Walsh, Dezso Polgar, Kyle Robinson, Lt. Chad Lamp, Tom Zielinsky, Sgt. Mike White, Tim Steele and Aaron Beaumont.

Commission President Paul Cowey said commissioners met with the appointed individuals to begin discussing plans for the future of the county’s 911 system.

“They look like they’re willing to be on board and help get our 911 system back on track,” Cowey said.

Under state code, advisory boards shall consist of at least six members, appointed by the county, and include at least one representative of the local fire service, law enforcement, emergency medical providers, emergency services providers, the governing body itself, and the director of the 911 system.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $4.73/week.

Subscribe Today