Scholarships presentation part of Smithfield reunion

SCHOLARSHIP RECIPIENTS — Awarded scholarships at this year’s Smithfield High School reunion were, from left, front, Abbey Kinyo, Kaitlin Toth, Lexie Anzevino, Lauren Siekel and Emily Berry; back, Zachary Toth, Ethan Zifzal, Jenny Potts and Jerad Call. -- Esther McCoy

SMITHFIELD — The annual presentation of scholarships was among the highlights of the Smithfield High School Spartans 119th reunion.

Scholarships were presented to graduating seniors and to teachers for projects in the Buckeye Local School District during the evening, which was held July 11 at Le Chateau Pier.

They have been awarded for 46 years and are funded by friends and those concerned with the further education of children or grandchildren of former classmates. Recipients included Abbey Kinyo, Ethan Zifzal and Lauren Seikel, who are attending the University of Akron; Kaitlin Toth, who is attending Edinboro University, and her twin brother, Zack Toth, who is attending Ohio Northern University; Lexie Anzevino, who is attending Ohio Christian University; Emily Berry, who is attending Kent State University; Jenny Potts, a teacher at Buckeye Local South; and Jerad Call, a teacher at Buckeye Local Junior High School.

Thirteen members of the Smithfield Class of 1971 were present, including Jodee Straus Verhovec, Cindy Waldman Straus, Norma Jean Phillips McHugh, Bette Jo Rozsa Feeney, Susan Torok Pastre, Peggy Donaldson Miro, Marlene Christman Harding, Agnes Ksiazek Worrell, Randall K. Ignace, Brian Vargo, Brent Dellacoletta, Rich Hockenberry and Fred Dokes.

The association has been presenting the Mary Sutherland Service Award since 1975 to a graduate who has worked with youth, did service in the community or was a teacher of note. This year’s recipient was Nina Garcia Hull of Huntington Harbor, Calif., who could not attend because of health reasons. She has been a regular contributor to the event and has attended in the past. Accepting the award were her twin brother, Manuel “Butch” Garcia, and sister, Clara “Babe” Garcia Kovarik.

Buddy McCoy, a member of the Class of 1967, was the recipient of the 41st Octa Foster Award, which is presented to a graduate who generated great athletic spirit and has been involved with youth sports. McCoy, who played local, high school and college sports, was involved into his 40s. He is a member of the Tuscarawas Baseball Hall of Fame and was a basketball referee.

Other scholarships were given by alumni groups, including Dick and Dorothy Prokes, Fred Straus, the Sutherland and Cibulka families and Friends of Smithfield.

Officers re-elected for 2022 included John Domenick, president; Garcia, first vice president; Esther McCoy, second vice president and newsletter editor; Dave Simmons, secretary; Tony Phillippi, recording secretary; and Rick Pastre, treasurer. Pastre also played the accordion for dinner music.

Domenick served as master of ceremonies; Gilbert Powell, a member of the Class of 1963, sang the alma mater; and Ron Vandeborne, a member of the Class of 1964, offered the dinner prayer.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $4.73/week.

Subscribe Today