Wheeling University to recognize 5 during virtual reunion

WHEELING – Five alumni will be recognized for contributions made to their profession, society or to Wheeling University during the 2021 Virtual All-School Reunion set for April 16-18.

“On Friday, April 16, alumni from across the country will gather online to honor this year’s recipients of the Distinguished Alumni, Lewis, Magis and O’Brien awards.

“Following the cancellation of last year’s reunion, the alumni council and the university made a pledge to host an event this year. I look forward to toasting these five individuals when we gather virtually,” said Ginny R. Favede, president of Wheeling University.

Favede will bestow the 2021 Distinguished Alumni Awards, which are given annually by the university to individuals for their contributions at work and in service to others, during the Friday night virtual celebration.

* Tom Bechtel, Class of 1973, will receive the St. Ignatius Loyola Distinguished Alumni Award. Bechtel is a former recreation director in Wheeling.

* The Rev. Pedro Arrupe, S.J. Distinguished Alumni Award will be presented to Kathleen Carrigan Hill, class of 1984. Carrigan Hill has dedicated her professional life to helping children and families in need. She currently serves as the liaison between Child Welfare and Juvenile Probation for Allegheny County, Pa.

* The Rev. Clifford M. Lewis, S.J. Award, the highest honor presented by the alumni association, to a founding member of the 50 Year Club, Walter âAlã Reed, class of 1960. Reed created the induction ceremony that is used each year to recognize the 50th anniversary classes and induct them into the 50 Year Club. In addition, Reed works with fellow senior ambassadors to provide financial support to his alma mater.

* The 2021 Magis Award will be given to Edward Shahady, M.D., class of 1960. Shahady is described by this friends and classmates a being a true âperson for others.ã A dedicated physician who remains active in his profession, he has given of his âtime, talent and treasureã serving as an outspoken advocate for Wheeling University in efforts of fundraising, alumni relations and service on the Board of Trustees. Shahady is a co-founder of the 50 Year Club and his idea for the Senior Ambassador program, which is composed of alumni from the first 15 classes, has help raise hundreds of thousands of dollars for the University.

* The Rev. James OáBrien, S.J. Award, which recognizes young alumni who manifest a growing competence and personal compassion in ones chosen field, and who exhibit strength and promise in areas reflecting the mission will be presented to Jonathan Proto, Ph.D., class of 2008. He is a principal scientist at Sanofi, a global biopharmaceutical company. Protoás laboratory, located just outside of Boston, endeavors to develop effective treatments for neurological diseases with a high unmet medical need, including progressive multiple sclerosis, dementia, and ALS.

The university has a number of events planned for the 2021 Virtual All-School Reunion.

Friday evening the classes of 1970 and 1971, who will be celebrating their Golden Anniversary, will be honored.

Due to the pandemic, last yearás reunion was cancelled, and the class of 1970 was not recognized.

To date, more than 200 alumni of all ages have registered for the 2021 reunion.

For more information or to register, visit www.wheeling.edu/alumni.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.39/week.

Subscribe Today