Government calendar

To encourage citizen participation in local government, this calendar listing the meeting times and places of public agencies will appear every Monday.

This week’s meetings include:


Jefferson County Regional Airport Authority: 6 p.m., pilot’s lounge, Jefferson County Air Park, Fernwood Road, Wintersville.

Follansbee Council: Regular meeting, 7 p.m., City Building.

Weirton Council: 7 p.m., City Building.

Dillonvale Council: 7 p.m., council chambers, Municipal Building.

Brooke County Board of Education: 6 p.m., board offices, 12th Street at Pleasant Avenue, Wellsburg.

Toronto Council: 7 p.m., council chambers, City Building, 416 Clark St.

Follansbee Building Enforcement Committee: 6 p.m., City Building.

Jefferson-Belmont Regional Solid Waste Authority Board: 5:30 p.m.


Jefferson County Board of Elections: 11 a.m., first floor, the Towers, 500 Market St.

Steubenville Council: 7:30 p.m., council chambers, City Building, 123 S. Third St.

Wellsburg Council: 7 p.m., city hall.

Mingo Junction Council: 7 p.m., council chambers, municipal building, 501 Commercial St.

Trustees of Public Library of Steubenville and Jefferson County: 4 p.m., Main Library, 407 S. Fourth St., Steubenville.

Toronto Planning Commission: 7 p.m., City Building.

Brooke County Commission: 10:30 a.m. at the Brooke County Courthouse.

Brilliant Water and Sewer District: 5 p.m. , district’s office, 706 Second St., Brilliant.

Island Creek Township Trustees: 7 p.m., Island Creek Township garage on state Route 213.

Saline Township Trustees: 6:30 p.m., Saline Township Complex, Hammondsville.

Wells Township Trustees: 6:30 p.m., township office, 409 Prospect St., Brilliant.

Edison Board of Education: 7 p.m., traveling meetings at all schools in district.

Weirton Zoning Board: Noon, council chambers at city building.

Jefferson Soil and Water Conservation District: 4:30 p.m., Mezzanine, Suite 4, 500 Market St., Steubenville.


Brooke County Public Service District, 5:30 p.m., 711 Charles St., Wellsburg.

Jefferson County Veterans Service Commission: 12:30 p.m., Suite 310, 500 Market St., Steubenville.

Steubenville Parks and Recreation Board: 7 p.m., Belleview Park clubhouse.

Governing board of the Ohio Valley Energy and Technology Academy: 10:30 a.m., Buckeye Local administrative offices, Dillonvale.


Hammond Public Service District: 4 p.m., 736 Charles St., Wellsburg.

Jefferson County Commission: 9 a.m., first floor, county courthouse, 301 Market St., Steubenville.

Knox Township Trustees: 6 p.m., 25 township Road 247, Knox Township Administrative Building.

Wintersville Council: 7 p.m., Municipal Building, 200 Grove St.

Follansbee Water Board: 6 p.m., city building.

Follansbee Sewer Board: 7:30 p.m., city building.

Jefferson County Board of Developmental Disabilities: 4:30 p.m., School of Bright Promise, 256 John Scott Highway, Steubenville.

Toronto Board of Education: 5 p.m., Karaffa Middle School library.

Steel Valley Regional Transit Authority: 4:30 p.m. transit center, 555 Adams St.

Utica Shale Academy Governing Board: 6 p.m.

AUG. 19

Steubenville Fair Housing Practices Commission: 6:30 p.m., council chambers, City Building, 123 S. Third St.

Jefferson County Prevention and Recovery Board: 5:30 p.m., board office, 524 Madison Ave., Steubenville.

Salem Township Trustees: 7 p.m., Glenn Mills Senior Community Center, located at 7576 state Route 152 south.

Jefferson Soil and Water Conservation District: 4:30 p.m., Suite 4, Mezzanine, 500 Market St., Steubenville.