4-H boards keep things running

STEUBENVILLE — Committees are a necessary to keep an organization running and Jefferson County 4-H has these committees as well.

These are divided up into the southern or northern areas of the county.

Here are the committees listed for the north: Kurt Johnson, Richmond; Mollie McConnell, Richmond; Jamie Wiley, Amsterdam; Doug Meadows, Bloomingdale; Bonnie Randolph, Richmond; and Leslie Aftanas, Steubenville. For the south it is Joyce Wetherell, Mingo Junction; Cindy Stingle, Rayland; Clint Finney, Rayland; Kelly Valuska, Rayland; Erin Best, Rayland; and Betty Ann Kasper, Adena.

Members at large: Carolyn Piergallini, Dillonvale; Debra Grimes, Bloomingdale; Erin Authier, Rayland; and Amy Browning, Rayland.

Competition started early, when the Horse Bowl was held March 30 in Columbus. Members attending were Samantha Glenn, Courtney Cooley, Makenna Carter, Harley Kemp, Makenzie Carter, Lily Larkins, Hayden Maple, Micah Larkins and Gabriel Glenn.

Cooley placed sixth in individual competition and Glenn was 10th in individual competition. The senior team placed eighth and the junior team placed 10th.

Camp scholarship winners were Grace Browning and Hailey Parker, Leadership Washington Focus; Catallina Mazzaferro and Corissa Griffith, Leadership Camp; Emma Morrison, Citizenship Washington Focus; Carly Long, Carving New Ideas; Frank Mazzaferro and Kailyn Frey, Shooting Sports Camp.

Camp counselors received instruction in CPR and first aid before attending youth camp this year. Jefferson county Joint Vocational School Criminal Justice instructor Jamie Freeman and Early Childhood instructor Becky Kelley led the more than 30 students in the adult-level certifications.