Founders’ Association to honor professors

STEUBENVILLE — Three retired Franciscan University of Steubenville professors will be honored at the school’s 68th-annual Founders’ Association Dinner on Dec 2.

Education Professors Floyd L. Cogley Jr. and Mary Lucille Smith and Professor Mary F. Salter, a 1970 graduate of the university and a retired mathematics professor, will be honored at the dinner.

Each of the honorees was influential in developing the education and mathematics departments at the university.

Cogley came to the then-College of Steubenville as an assistant professor of education in 1970.

As director of elementary education, Cogley directed the successful start of the early experience and special education programs, which are now key components of the university’s education program. He eventually took a leadership position as a national trainer for Performance Learning Systems and trained graduate students in elementary and secondary education at universities across the country.

Cogley remained active with the university through the Creative Cornerstones program, which he founded in 1973 and co-directed with James Anderson until 2015.

Smith was hired as an assistant professor of education by the Rev. Michael Scanlan, T.O.R., in 1969 and became a professor of education after receiving her doctorate in 1993.

Beginning in 2003, Smith helped steer the university’s graduate program toward online learning, developing online education classes that became the forerunners to many of the school’s online graduate programs.

During her last 12 years at the school, Smith served as program coordinator for the education department and secured national licensing accreditation for seven teaching specialties, including intervention specialist and early childhood.

Salter first came to the College of Steubenville as an undergraduate mathematics student in the late 1960s. In 1978, she returned as an assistant professor in that same program.

Salter helped develop the university’s computer science program during a time when few universities offered the major. During the advent of the personal computer in the 1980s, Salter used her knowledge of programming to help lead the installation of the university’s first administrative computing system.

University Founders’ Scholarships will be awarded to Franciscan students Mary McGovern, an English major who graduated from Toronto High School; Elizabeth Bennette, a social work major from Steubenville; and Alanna Marshall, a social work major who graduated from Steubenville Catholic Central.

The Rose M. DeFede Women’s Guild Scholarship will be awarded to Sharon Orndorff, a theology major who graduated from Piper (Kan.) High School; Lauren Gubinski, a nursing major who graduated from Kingston (Ky.) High School; Sonya McLoyd, an education major who graduated from Johnstown (Pa.) Senior High School; and Natia Smith, an English and education major who graduated from Steubenville High School.

The Dr. Patricia Fletcher Scholarship will be awarded to Tammy Aggers, a graduate education major who has an undergraduate degree from West Liberty University.

The Academy of Lifelong Learning Award recipient will be Stacy Hooper, a graduate education major who has an undergraduate degree from West Liberty University.

The Founders’ Association Dinner was established in 1949 by the Rev. Daniel Egan, T.O.R., the first president of the College of Steubenville, to draw the college and civic communities together.

The Founders’ Award was established in 1978 to recognize outstanding contributions of men, women and organizations to Franciscan University of Steubenville and the community.

To make a reservation for the dinner or a scholarship donation, call the university’s community relations office at (740) 283-6406 by Nov. 20.