DKG Alpha Mu installs two new members, officers

OFFICERS — Installed as officers of the Alpha Mu Chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma Educational Society were, front, from left, Lindsay Clifton, corresponding secretary; Nancy Shuster, nominations chair; Donna Iachini, first vice president; Sally George, recording secretary; and Mary Barnes, treasurer; and back, Carolyn Kibble, president; Ann Wiley, second vice president; and Rose Seck, Parliamentarian.

KILGORE — The Kilgore Evangelical Church was the setting for the May 14 meeting that was the closing year session for 33 attending members of the Alpha Mu Chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma Educational Society.

Ann Todd of Wakeman, Ohio, state recording secretary, addressed the membership about DKG state events. She welcomed two new member initiates; encouraged mentorship and new members to be active; and urged the overall membership to consider becoming more involved in state organization governance and their own DKG chapters.

The May meeting consisted of several ceremonies, speakers and various reports. Carolyn Kibble presented thank-you gifts to Todd, incoming and outgoing officers and key committee chairs.

In celebration of Mother’s Day, Kibble gave a gift to the oldest and youngest mother in attendance — Edwina McElwain and club guest Racheal Kline, respectively.

New members Cheryl Rubish and Charleigh Harding were initiated by Donna Iachini with officers installed by Nancy Shuster.

NEW MEMBER INSTALLATION — Participating in the May meeting installation of new members in Alpha Mu Chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma were, from left, Ann Todd, DKG state recording secretary and speaker; Dani Carroll, sponsor of Charleigh Harding, new member; Harding; new member Cheryl Rubish; Donna Iachini, installing officer and membership, chair first vice president; Linda Holub, ceremony reader and committee member; and Carolyn Kibble, president and ceremony reader.

Gina Judy was thanked by Nancy Shuster and Kibble for serving as recording secretary for the last six years.

Lunch was provided by the women of the church. Jan Primack offered the blessing.

Reports were given by Mary Barnes, Ann Wiley, Judy, Carole Thorne, Rose Seck, Diane McElwain, Julie Blanton and Darlene Smith.

Linda Holub was the basket winner in a drawing.

The group’s April 9 meeting was held at the Sycamore Youth Center in Steubenville, where Bobbyjon Bauman, its director, gave an overview of the center’s history and present-day offerings. The nondenominational center has 85 volunteers and 51 free afterschool classes.

GROUP SHOT — On hand for the May 14 meeting of the Alpha Mu Chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma Educational Society were, front, from left, Carolyn Kibble, Donna Iachini, Sally George, Charleigh Harding, Cheryl Rubish, Dani Carroll and Lindsay Clifton; second row, Barb Losey, Darlene Smith, Judy Serdar, Diana McElwain, Edwina McElwain, Rose Seck, Nancy Linn, Judy Blanton, Julie Workman and Gina Judy; third row, Mary Barnes, Barb Pritts, Cynthia Harrah, Karen Meyer, Linda Holub, Lynnda Bizzari and Kathy Pavlik; fourth row, Jan Primack, Karen Goddard and Ann Wiley; and back, Nancy Shuster, Ellen Swickard, Carole Thorne and Ann Todd.

The center’s purpose, he explained, is to allow children of all backgrounds to find a better life and to mentor students and help them develop life skills.

The Valley’s Got Talent competition was another topic Bauman touched on.

The April meeting committee reporting was presented by Carolyn Kibble, Mary Barnes, Ann Wiley, Gina Judy, Nancy Shuster, Donna Iachini, Rose Seck, Janice Pyles and Judy Weaver.

Winners of the basket drawing were Barbara Pritts and Mary Barnes.

Donations were made to various organizations and charities, including the WEBA Food Pantry, the Toronto Schools student-needs fund, the Sycamore Youth Center and the DKG ADS-OET Educational Fund.

PRESENTATION — Carolyn Kibble, left, president the Alpha Mu Chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma Educational Society, presented Ann Todd, state recording secretary and program speaker, with a gift basket.

It was requested that all club members pay dues by early June.

The organization’s March meeting was canceled because of weather.

The Dec. 11 meeting featured the Make-it-Take-it, Silent Auction chaired by Julie Blanton, and a Christmas program presented by Sally George and Lindsay Clifton.

Blanton announced that Allyson Kuntz, a third-grade teacher in Toronto City Schools, was the recipient of the new-teacher scholarship.

Reports were presented by Kibble, Darlene Smith, Ann Wiley, Nancy Shuster, Deb Kovalesky, Marlene Wolfe, Darlene Mason and Donna Iachini.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $4.73/week.

Subscribe Today