Community news from around the area

New Cumberland Hall

of Fame inductees named

NEW CUMBERLAND — The New Cumberland Hall of Fame committee members are putting the finishing touches on their plans for the 2022 ceremony to induct three people from New Cumberland who go out of their way to volunteer to help others, according to Dorothy Hawkes, committee spokesperson.

Rick Greenwood is event chairman.

The 31st-annual New Cumberland Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be held Feb. 6, Boy Scout Sunday, at the New Cumberland Christian Church located at 100 S. Court St., New Cumberland. The ceremony begins at 1 p.m. and is open to the public and is followed by refreshments in the church fellowship hall.

The ceremony honors two people, one posthumously. That includes Diane Wells and the late Cathy Sobl. Roy Boring will be honored with the “Spirit of Scouting” award in recognition of his work with the Boy Scouts.

The New Cumberland Hall of Fame ceremony honors citizens for their dedicated service to the community and was launched in 1991 by Robert Stanley, who at the time was a member of New Cumberland Boy Scout Troop 38. He created the event as his Eagle Scout project.

“The candidates are nominated by the public and then the committee and all living past inductees vote on those to be inducted in February,” Hawkes said, noting one living and one deceased citizen are inducted annually, although some years there have been as many as four inductees.

The committee is made up of representatives of the organizations and the churches in New Cumberland, including the New Cumberland Women’s Club, New Cumberland Lions Club, Swaney Memorial Library Board and New Cumberland Troop 38 Committee. Committee members and all Hall of Fame inductees vote in elections.

The Hall of Fame committee encourages the submission of names to be added to the current list of nominees, which is kept each year and added to as new names are submitted. A nomination should be accompanied by a letter explaining why that person is worthy of such honors and include a resume of sorts. Nominations can be submitted to Greenwood at greenwood908@comcast.net or to any committee member.

Aside from Greenwood, the Hall of Fame committee has Rob Stanley as co-chairman and Joyce Frain as treasurer. Presentation committee members are Hawkes, Betsy Wells, Alice Mitchell, Helen Kirpen, Bonnie Burskey and Pam Briscoe. Ed Fields, Richard Blackwell and Robert Manypenny constitute the research committee and Rodney Burdine and Rick Greenwood, the plaque committee.

Alpha Tau Chapter members share special family recipes

NEW CUMBERLAND — The January meeting of Alpha Tau Chapter of Alpha Delta Kappa International Honorary for Women Educators was held recently at the Swaney Memorial Library in New Cumberland.

President Diane Bowers called the meeting to order. The Thought for the Day, a reading from “Walking In Grace,” was given by Chaplain Kathy Griffith.

Velda Icard, secretary, read the minutes of the previous meeting, which were approved. The treasurer’s report was given by Fran Jones. Correspondence from W.Va. President Pat Hardin was read.

The group participated in a musical activity led by Susan Gracie, fraternity education chairman.

Attendees were reminded that the recent International Teacher Education virtual presentation can now be viewed on the international website. Seven scholars from different areas of the world were featured in the World Understanding program.

A nominating committee was elected to seek candidates for the slate of officers for the 2022-24 biennium. That committee includes Chairman Ginger Greene, Icard, Susan Gracie and Amy Hannahs.

The program for the meeting involved sharing special family recipes. They were collected and will be put together in a booklet for the members. Refreshments for the meeting were samples of the recipes shared.

The next meeting will be held Feb. 8.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $4.73/week.

Subscribe Today