Women’s golf news


The Cadiz Women’s Golf League played “Low Scores on Par Threes” on Aug. 21.

Hostesses were Janis Cook and Marsha Porter who announced winners as: A flight, a three-way tie between Brenda Hartley, Janis Cook and Tracy Amos. B flight winner was Bonnie Beetham, and C flight winner went to Glenda Sensel.

Chip-ins were made by Janis Cook on hole No. 11, which gave her a bird; Glenda Sensel on hole No. 1, giving her a bird; and Lori DeFallo on hole No. 12.

The “Putt Pot” was split between Nep Rowland and Lori DeFallo.

Play of the Day for Wednesday will be “One-Putt Poker,” with hostesses being Carole Patton and Judy Crawshaw. Tee time is 9 a.m.


The women of the Red Oaks Ladies League played low gross on the front nine on Aug. 19.

Denise Augustine and Lorraine Parsons took the prize for the play of day. Lori DeFallo won the long drive prize for hole No. 5. Neysa McCart had the closest to the pin prize on hole No. 6 as well as the low putt prize.

All women are invited to participate. Play will be at Highland Springs in Wellsburg on Monday, beginning at 5 p.m. Those planning to play should call the golf course the day of play before 3:30 p.m.


Spring Hills Ladies Golf League participants started the first week of the club championship.

Leading the A flight are Debbie Phillippi, Kathi Moore and Ruth Lamantia.

Leading B flight are Brenda McCloskey, Judy Galbraith, Janet Backel and Patty Orlando.

Leading C flight are Linda Caputo, Tammy Cox and Tammy Koutsky.

Novelty prizes were awarded to: Long drive, A flight, Kathi Moore; B flight, Brenda McCloskey; and C flight, Tammy Koutsky.

Closest to the pin were: A flight, Debbie Phillippi; B flight, Judy Galbraith; and C flight, Mary Arehart.

Chip-ins were Debbie Phillippi and Tammy Cox.

JoAnne Hardman won the 50-50 drawing.


Town and Country Golf played “Throw Out Two Worst Holes” on Aug. 15. Winners were: A flight, Laura Froehlich; B flight, Pat Zorne; and C flight, Toni Jean Dondzila. Low putts was Patty Saccoccia. Froehlich had a birdie on hole No. 1.

Other winners were:

Long drive hole No. 3 — A flight, Wanda Retzer; B flight, Zorne; and C flight, Shirley Guida.

Long drive hole No. 9 — A flight, Froehlich; B flight, Zorne; and C flight, Dondzila.

Closest to the pin on hole No. 4 — A flight, Froehlich; B flight, Zorne; and C flight, Sondra Hyde.