County Farm Bureaus honored

COLUMBUS ­– Twenty-nine county Farm Bureaus throughout Ohio were honored with achievement awards for outstanding programming during the past year during the 101st-annual meeting of the Ohio Farm Bureau held Dec. 4-5.

Jefferson, Harrison, Belmont and Carroll counties were among those honored.

“Our county Farm Bureaus had some really great programming this year,” said Adam Sharp, executive vice president of Ohio Farm Bureau. “Their contributions had a positive impact in the agriculture industry as well as local communities. It’s great to see our county Farm Bureaus so heavily invested in their communities.”

The projects that won accolades included:

¯ Jefferson County: Communications and outreach 2019 programs.

¯ Harrison County: Public policy 2019 programs.

¯ Carroll County: Public policy 2019 programs.

¯ Belmont County: School backpack program.

Volunteer Farm Bureau members judged the projects, which represent excellence in local activities that support Ohio Farm Bureau’s strategic efforts. Those include programs to strengthen the organization and build membership, affect public policy, promote agriculture and enhance the organization’s relationship with long-standing partner Nationwide.

The counties were placed in four divisions based on the size of their membership.

Collaboration Awards were presented to county Farm Bureaus that worked together to create unique and effective programming. Awards were presented to:

¯ Allen, Paulding, Putnam and Van Wert counties: Ag District Signup Days.

¯ Carroll and Tuscarawas counties: Sowing the Seeds for Agriculture’s Future.

¯ Ashtabula, Geauga, Lake and Trumbull counties: Farm, Business, Land and Homeowners Conference.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.39/week.

Subscribe Today