Sectional draws held today for Ohio playoffs

The calendar has flipped to May and that means warm weather and the tournament trail in baseball and softball are about to heat up.

Actually, the sectional tournaments open Saturday and the brackets for those tournaments are established today in both sports as the regular season winds downs.

The state tournaments for all three spring sports are slated for June 6-8.

The baseball state tournament is once again ticketed for Huntington Park in downtown Columbus, while the state softball tournament returns to Akron’s Firestone Park.

Plenty of games are left to be played before the brass rings are decided.

In baseball, area teams compete in Divisions II, III and IV.

The Division II sectional is slated for Vacarro Field. Two of the 11 teams ticketed for the sectional will take part in a district final at Vacarro with that winner headed for the regional in Zanesville.

Competing in Steubenville are Beaver, Buckeye Local, Cambridge, Carrollton, East Liverpool, Edison, Harrison Central, Indian Creek, Meadowbrook, Minerva and Steubenville.

Taking part in the 10-team section at Zanesville are Claymont, Dover, John Glenn, Indian Valley, Maysville, Morgan, New Philadelphia, Philo, River View and West Holmes.

The Division III sectional is once again being held at Cambridge’s Don Coss Field. One team from Cambridge and Ridgewood will qualify for the district final at River View High School.

Competing at Cambridge are: Bellaire, Fort Frye, Martins Ferry, Monroe Central, St. Clairsville, Union Local and West Muskingum.

At Ridgewood are Buckeye Trail, Coshocton, Garaway, Newcomerstown, Ridgewood, Sandy Valley and Tuscarawas Valley.

In Division IV, Bridgeport’s Niekro Diamond and Tuscarawas Central Catholic are the hosts for sectional play with two teams from each site earning a trip to the district at Cambridge City Park.

At Bridgeport are: Barnesville, Beallsville, Bridgeport, Steubenville Catholic Central, Frontier, River, Shadyside, St. John and Toronto.

At TCC are: Rosecrans, Caldwell, Conotton Valley, Hiland, Malvern, Shenandoah, Strasburg and the host Saints.

In softball, there were significant changes to the draws, but not the sites.

In Division II, Beaver Local, Buckeye Local, Edison, Indian Creek and Steubenville will compete at the sectional at Jefferson Lake State Park.

That survivor will earn a trip to the district final at River View against the winner of the Carrollton section, which has Carrollton Dover, East Liverpool, Minerva and New Philadelphia battling.

In Division III is where the most significant change lies. St. Clairsville’s Junior Sports Complex and Cambridge City Park are still the sites, but there will be no district tournament at Cambridge as there’s been in years’ past.

The eight teams at St. C. will battle with one winner heading directly to the regional at Pickerington. The 10 schools in Cambridge will battle for a trip to the regional in Ashland.

At St. C. are Bellaire, Steubenville Catholic Central, Harrison Central, Martins Ferry, Monroe Central, Shenandoah, St. Clairsville and Union Local.

At Cambridge are Buckeye Trail, Fort Frye, Claymont, Coshocton, Indian Valley, Newcomerstown, Ridgewood, Sandy Valley, Tuscarawas Valley and West Muskingum.

The Division IV sites are still Shadyside and Strasburg with two winners from each venue earn a trip to Tuscarawas Central in New Philadelphia for the district.

Competing at Shadyside are Barnesville, Beallsville, Bridgeport, Frontier, River, Shadyside, St. John and Toronto. The Strasburg field consists of Rosecrans, Caldwell, Conotton Valley, Garaway, Hiland, Malvern, Strasburg and TCC.

In track, the district sites are still Newcomerstown for Division III and a split Division II district with teams competing at Meadowbrook and West Holmes.

The Division III district will be split once again with all boys heading to Navarre and girls in one district heading to Fairfield Union and other group heads to Navarre.

The Division II regional is once again set for The Plains High School in Athens.