Locals net a trip to W.Va. state tournament

CHARLESTON – Nine locals are preparing for the West Virginia Class AA-A Tennis Championships beginning Thursday.

Weirton Madonna’s Nick Conforti, Matt Conforti and Ali Welch will head south, along with Oak Glen’s Haley Spurlock, Anna Crawford, Abbi Sayre, Madison Juszczak, Lauren Pizzurro and Madison Hill.

Nick Conforti won the No. 1 singles regional championship for the second year in a row on Saturday at the Erikson Sports Facility in Parkersburg.

The Blue Dons senior, who lost in the semifinals at the state tournament a year ago, defeated Wheeling Central’s Jonathan Haley, 8-2.

Younger brother Matt Conforti is headed to the state tournament for the third straight year at No. 2 singles.

He topped St. Marys Drew Poling 8-3.

The Conforti twosome also grabbed their third regional championship at the No. 1 doubles slot.

They knocked off Haley and Brett Szeligo, 8-3.

The pair made it to the state semifinals last year.

Welch makes her first appearance at the state tournament after placing second at No. 2 singles, losing an 8-2 final to Ravenswood’s Taylor Youell. Welch made it to the final thanks to an 8-4 victory over Crawford.

Sayre won the regional title at No. 3 singles with an 8-4 decision over Ravenswood’s Bess McNabb.

Juszczak claimed the regional crown at No. 4 singles after cruising past East Fairmont’s Brittany Brumage, 8-0. Juszczak played three matches and only lost one game.

Spurlock made it at No. 1 singles after taking fourth at regionals. She dropped an 8-5 third-place match to East Fairmont’s Catherine Boyles.

Pizzurro and Hill triumped at No. 3 doubles with an 8-3 victory over East Fairmont’s Cara Laswell and Marcie Corder.

In order to get to the final at No. 2 doubles, Crawford and Sayre edged Madonna’s Morgan Deurr and Elizabeth Conforti, 9-7, in the semifinals.

East Fairmont’s Brumage and Jacqueline Costello defeated Crawford and Sayre, 8-6, in the final.

Spurlock and Juszczak, at No. 1 doubles, dropped an 8-5 count to Ritchie County’s Veronica Mueller and Olivia Haught.