Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Blogs | Contact Us | All Access E-Edition | Home RSS

Scholarships, awards given to graduates

June 1, 2012
By JEREMY KINS - Staff writer , The Herald-Star

WINTERSVILLE - More than 50 scholarships and awards were given on May 22 to seniors at Indian Creek High School, as those graduating were honored during a banquet held at St. Florian Hall.

Principal Steve Cowser's message to graduating seniors was to "set goals and go after them."

"If you don't go after your goals, you won't reach them. Shoot for the stars," said Cowser. "The Class of 2012 has been fantastic and accomplished so much. Our senior class has 85 percent going off to a two- to four-year college. We're proud and they've done a tremendous job."

High school English teacher Terri Starkey welcomed students, parents and staff in attendance with humorous stories about the students and acted as master of ceremony for the awards.

The recipients of this year's Ohio High School Athletic Association Scholar Athlete Award were Ashley Starr and Samuel Orr. The OHSAA Archie Griffin Sportsmanship Award was given to Ashley Starr and Michael Furda. Aubrie Gaydosh received the Daughters of the American Revolution Good Citizen Award.

Samuel Orr and Megan Hukill were awarded the "I Dare You" Award, and the Wendy's High School Heisman Award was received by Ashley Starr and Samuel Orr.

Those receiving the State Award of Merit were Joseph Bowers, Brett Butler, Hillary Carney, Hannah Eckley, Aubrie Gaydosh, Joshua Gluzman, Sebastian Gravelle, Dylan Hibbits, Breanna Hoover, Paul Huber, Megan Hukill, Travis Jackson, Alisha Keeton, Erica Kirkpatrick, Ethan Knight, Thomas McPeek, Stephanie Nicosia, Samuel Orr, Ashley Polverini, Kristin Riapos, Ashley Shimko, Rebekah Smith, Amelia Smith, Ashley Starr, Jordan Vankirk, Nicholas Vankirk, Camille Vincent, Danielle Welling, Jordan Yeater, Macy Yoho and Cinnamon Young.

Twelve students were honored with the President's Award of Excellence. They were Daniel Aleksiejczyk, Hunter Bailey, Anthony Davis, Michael Furda, Aubrie Gaydosh, Sebastian Gravelle, Dylan Hibbits, Alisha Keeton, Shyla O'Dell, Julie Polsinelli, McCall Sims and Danielle Welling.

Megan Hukill was the recipient of the Principal's Leadership Award and McCall Sims received the Hugh O'Brien Leadership Award.

Twenty-one students were recognized as Senior National Honor Society members and they were Hunter Bailey, Misty Brake, Zebediah Butterfield, Hillary Carney, Kaleigh Clevenger, Anthony Davis, Derek DeMattio, Hannah Eckley, Aubrie Gaydosh, Megan Hukill, Shyla O'Dell, Samuel Orr, Julie Polsinelli, Kristin Riapos, McCall Sims, Rebekah Smith, Ashley Starr, Jenna Tate, Nathan Thomas, Danielle Welling and Jordan Yeater.

The recipients of the U.S. Army Scholar-Athlete Award were Marc Derek DeMattio and Kristian Riapos. The U.S. Marine Corps Scholastic, Athletic and Music Awards were given to Aubrie Gaydosh and Samuel Orr for scholastics; Ashley Starr and Michael Furda, athletics; and Ashley Webb and Marc Derek DeMattio, music.

The Post 911 GI Bill Scholarship Award was received by Sebastian Gravelle. Cinnamon Young was awarded the Wintersville Women's Club Scholarship. The Glenda Dunlope Scholarship was awarded to McCall Sims, and the Wintersville Women's Club Scholarship to Eastern Gateway Community College was awarded to Alexander Bodnar and Dustin Terpenning.

The recipient of the Hills Elementary School Parent-Teacher Organization Scholarship was Danielle Welling. Amelia Smith was awarded the Kids Inc. Scholarship. Hunter Bailey received the Wintersville Elementary PTO Scholarship. Joseph Bowers and Kristian Riapos were both winners of the Joe Fortunato Scholarship, and Katie Srock was awarded the Ricky Treglia Scholarship.

The Albert B. Teramana Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Tabatha Taylor, and Aubrie Gaydosh and Samuel Orr received the Kristen Robinson Johnson Memorial Scholarship.

The Steubenville Kiwanis Award was received by Joshua Gluzman. McCall Sims and Tabatha Taylor received the Indian Creek Key Club Scholarship. McCall Sims also received the Indian Creek Education Association Scholarship, Alicia Bane Memorial Scholarship and the Student Council Scholarship.

The recipient of the Barkhurst Scholarship was Megan Hukill. The Bob and Carol Oklok Scholarship was awarded to Anthony Davis. The EGCC Jefferson County Academic Scholarship was awarded to Danielle Welling. She also received the McClellan Trust Fund Scholarship.

The Nina Gentile Scholarship was awarded to Macy Yoho. Hunter Bailey was the recipient of the Judy Custer Memorial Scholarship. The Students Against Destructive Decisions Scholarship was awarded to Tinia Hopkins, and Hannah Eckley received the Friends of Indian Creek Scholarship.

The Rotary Club "Service Above Self" Scholarship was awarded to McCall Sims, and she also received the Unionport Grange/Apple Stirrin' Scholarship and the Wintersville Alumni Classes of 1971-72 Scholarship.

Aubrie Gaydosh was the recipient of the Weirton Medical Center Auxiliary Scholarship. The Canvas for Kids Scholarship was awarded to Catie Hill. The Ohio University Eastern Scholarship was received by Marc Derek DeMattio and Shyla O'Dell.

Hillary Carney, Hannah Eckley and Jordan Yeater all received the Franciscan University Commuter Grant. The Pugliese Scholarship was awarded to Thomas McPeek, Samuel Orr, Kristin Riapos and Ashley Starr.

Anthony Davis, Derek DeMattio, Aubrie Gaydosh, Catie Hill, Christopher Hubbard and Ashley Starr all were awarded the Indian Creek Foundation Scholarship. The Eugene "Keat" Rensi Memorial Scholarship was received by Hannah Eckley, and McCall Sims was awarded Richard Cosentino Memorial Scholarship.

The recipient of the Alpha Delta Kappa Scholarship was Megan Hukill. The Barbara Bonnell Gifted Scholarship was awarded to Julie Polsinelli. The Italian-American Cultural Club Edmundo Stabene Memorial Scholarship went to Nathan Thomas.

The Clancey Family Scholarship was awarded to Anthony Davis, Michael Furda, Aubrie Gaydosh and Samuel Orr.

Students then received scholarship recognition from colleges and agencies and that included Daniel Aleksiejczyk, the Ohio University Gateway Scholarship and Louis Armstrong Award; Hannah Eckley, John Philip Sousa Award; Michael Furda, District 5 Basketball Coaches' Association Scholarship and Mount Union Trustees Scholarship; Jennifer Glasure, Band Boosters' Scholarship and Dean Martin Scholarship; Jessica Glasure, Band Boosters' Scholarship and Dean Martin Scholarship; Catie Hill, Band Director's Award; Ryan Johnson, Band Boosters' Award and Dean Martin Scholarship; Julie Polsinelli, Honors Recognition Scholarship from University of Akron and Presidential Scholarship from University of Akron; Ashleigh Polverini, Band Boosters' Scholarship and Dean Martin Scholarship; McCall Sims Trustee Scholarship to Kent State University and Arion Award; Tabatha Taylor, Trustee Scholarship to Kent State University; and Noah Wood, Scholarship to University of Akron.

Departmental awards were received by Joshua Gluzman for science; Samuel Orr, math and Spanish; Travis Jackson, French; Zebediah Butterfield and Megan Hukill, art; Hillary Carney and Brittany White, English; Dustin Terpenning, social studies; Daniel Aleksiejczyk, business/economics; and Hillary Carney and Megan Hukill, interactive media.

(Kins can be contacted at and followed at @jkinsHS on Twitter.)

I am looking for: