Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Honors convocation held at Eastern Gateway

May 16, 2012
From staff reports , The Herald-Star

STEUBENVILLE - Eastern Gateway Community College's 2012 Outstanding Alumnus Thomas J. DeFallo addressed audience members at the 23rd-annual Honors Convocation Tuesday night.

More than 150 students received recognition for their academic fortitude and other honors during the ceremony on the Jefferson County campus.

DeFallo of Steubenville graduated in 1985 with an associate of applied science degree in respiratory therapy technician. Currently, DeFallo works at Tri State Medical in Weirton and is married to Lori Ullery.

He is the founding facilitator for Better Breathers' Club of Weirtion and a member of the American Lung Association, American Association of Respiratory Care and the West Virginia Tobacco Coalition. He serves on the advisory board for Eastern Gateway's Respiratory Program.

DeFallo coordinates the Eastern Gateway-Tri State Medical Respiratory Care Preceptor Program.

He holds a bachelor's degree from LaRoche College and a master's degree from Franciscan University of Steubenville.

Special awards presented include:

All Ohio Academic Team - Alesia Ann Withers and Martariesa M. Fiala.

Coca-Cola Scholarship - Withers.

ASCP National Student Honor Awards - Shana Mazza and Danell Plunkett.

Geraldine Diebler/Stella Griffin Award sponsored by ASCLS - Ohio - Plunkett.

Donna Robinson Dental Assisting Achievement Award - Kristin Melton.

Eastern Dental Society Achievement Award - Sarah Stowers.

TRIO SSS Academic Achievement Awards - Valerie Arnold, Lisa Black, Scott Brown, Anna Cain, Derek Costlow, David Green, Kayla Hubbard, Austin Jones, William Kerkuta, Joshua Meeks, Kristin Melton, Charmayne Morgan, Carol Painter, Aaron Straney, Renee Tedreau, Charlynn Wade, Amber Wanat, Ashley Withers, Ashley Young and Eric Young.

During the Honor Roll Call, students were recognized for their academic achievements. Summa cum laude honors were bestowed upon Taylor E. Abdalla, Kimberly J. Branch, Anna Monica Cain, Chalisa R. Cook, Ricky Gene Crawford, Anita Kay Cunningham, Susanne C. Escobar, Dawn M. Gombar, Juliett D. Hamilton, Kayla Elizabeth Hubbard, Jodi Lee Klepec, Joshua Robert Meeks, Plunkett, Moira M. Ritchie, Rebecca J. Sanor, Wilson J. Smith, Mary-Kay Elizabeth Trice, Blake R. Webber and Withers.

Magna cum laude honors went to Jessica N. Acantilado, Valerie Lynn Arnold, Bruce William Barnett, John Alan Gale, Jennifer E. Geary, Lori Beth Johnston, Thomas W. Jones, Richard Koh, Karen A. McGraw, Joseph E. McGuire, Gary Lee Milburn, Edgar V. Quito, Paige Nicole Samoviski, Caleb Jon-Curtis Shepard, Jamie Lynn Starkey, Haylie Renee Tedeschi, Kristy Lynn Teller and Aidan K. Zamborsky.

Cum laude recognition was give to Vickie L Bourgeois Kmaur, Scott Randall Brown, Carrissa L. Casto, Samuel James Clark, Laura Michele Eastham, Dustin Patrik Eller, Robert Louis Evans, John Michael Falbo, Martariesa M. Fiala, Randy William Flowers, Chellsee Erryn Fuller, Richard Timothy Griffiths, James Dean Groves, Christopher R. Haught, Ethan Roger Hilliard, Janess Addie Howard, Austin W. Jones, William S. Kerkuta, Ashley R. Kerr, Robert L. Kirkpatrick, DeAnna D. Konick, Michaela A. Kustrin, Kassandra M Lude, Susan Ann Mansfield, Shana M. Mazza, Chelsey McAngues, Amanda K. Moro, Jennifer Lynn Mueller, John Andrew Nice, Don G. Roe, James Richard Seroke, Vanessa K. Sizemore, Kylie Jo Sturtevant, Kelly J. Sutphin, Jessica Lyn Thompson, Rachel A. Thorne, Adam Blake Trifonoff, Dustin K. VanFossen, Amber Nicole Wanat, JoAnn Wardeska and Antonette M. Wright.

I am looking for: