Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Colliers Primary PTA honors arts winners

April 9, 2011
By CAROL CAIN - Staff correspondent , The Herald-Star

The Colliers Primary School Parent-Teacher Association recognized winners of its Cultural Arts contest at a meeting led by Sabrina Fox, the group's president.

Winners in the following divisions of the contest, which had the theme "Together We Can," were:

Literature: kindergartener Brycen Hair; first-graders Savannah Turner-Davis and Brett Browning; second-graders Alex Garrett, Alexis Spensky and Hunter Criss; third-grader Abigail Hair; and fourth-grader Scott Browning.

Photography: second-graders Dalton Anderson and Alex Garrett and fourth-grader Chloe Fox.

Visual arts: kindergartener Brycen Hair; first-graders Brett Browning, Mason Abate and Savannah Turner-Davis; second-graders Ethan Robey, Alex Garrett, Hannah Latimer, Dalton Anderson and Alexis Spensky; third-graders Abigail Hair and Brennan Secrist; and fourth-graders Taylor Sesto, Scott Browning and Chloe Fox.

County level winners included Ethan Robey, Savannah Turner-Davis and Brycen Hair. Judging was done by the Naomi Rebekah Lodge of Colliers.

Merrilou Inman's and Rebecca Hagwood's second grade classes led the Pledge of Allegiance.

The following gave committee reports: LaDonna Warrick, banking; Denise Spensky, beautification; Melissa Garrett, Boxtops; Fox, membership; Kim Anderson, ways and means; Fox, yearbook; and Tawnya Dennis, homeroom parents. Dennis noted the Easter party is scheduled for April 19.

Past presidents Mildred Richter and Carol Cain, along with Fox, were honored during the Founder's Day program.

A nominating committee was formed. A life membership committee also was formed, with Fox, Melissa Garrett and Kim Anderson as members.

Room count was won by Inman's class.

Fireman's festival has new dates

The annual Colliers Firemen's Festival in Colliers will be held June 17-18.

A car cruise will be held from noon to 3 p.m. June 18 at the Colliers Volunteer Fire Department Firemen's Field, with sign-ups starting at 11 a.m.

For information, contact Tim Cain at (304) 748-1338.

Methodist women discuss family

The Colliers United Methodist Women met, with lunch served by Laura Becklehimer and Donna Williams.

Becklehimer, the group's president, opened the meeting with prayer, and Hope Daugherty led devotions.

Rosemary Mazezka presented the program, with the theme of family involvement for the holidays. An update was given on sick members, and the meeting closed with a special altar service.

Turkey shoot set

The Colliers Sportsmen Club will sponsor a turkey shoot at 1:30 p.m. April 17.

The public is invited to participate.


elects officers

The Colliers Volunteer Fire Department Auxiliary elected officers at a meeting led by Phyllis Aria, the group's president.

Officers elected for the upcoming year are: Aria, president; Charly Vilga, vice president; Evelyn Robinson, secretary; and Carol Cain, treasurer.

Francine Gordon, Carol Oiler, Sabrina Fox, Nancy Gordon and Debbie Bassetts were elected trustees, with Samantha Vilga as an alternate.

The annual Easter egg hunt will be held at 1 p.m. April 22 at the fire hall.

The fish fry will return May 13 and will be held from 3 p.m. to 8 p.m. every Friday until October.

Students honored

Colliers Primary students were recently honored in five different categories.

Adysin Watkins, Jacob Law, Adam Peveich, Gene Boyd, Jakob Blake, Alexis Spensky, Tabitha Keenan, Christopher Heinen, Abigail Gareis and Chase Martin were honored for fairness.

Emma Fabian, Brycen Hair, Erin Lucas, Haven Baker, Kory Moffit, Ryan Taylor, Paige Williams, Brennen Secrist, Jakob Bailey and Joseph Vojvodich were honored for compassion.

Matthew King, Jadyn Rech, Chesney Keenan, Cory Jenkins, Dalton Anderson, Mara Pendergrast, Garrett Cessna, Abigail Dennis, Skyler Dennis and Jesse Law were honored for respect.

Logan Burdine, Isaac Ellison, Savannah Turner-Davis, Jacob Vojvodich, Brianna Suhr, Shelby Welch, Jonathan Mrock, Evelyn Aracich, Taylor Sesto and Matthew Reed were honored for honesty.

Abigail Maxwell, Aaron Stanley, Dylan Fox, Haley Martin, Skyler Dawson, Alex Garrett, Abigail Hair, Kaitlyn Kennan, Shelby Dunn and Darby Criss were honored for responsibility.

(Cain is Colliers correspondent for the Brooke Scene.)

I am looking for: