Celebrating success

Staff, pupils, parents and other community members gathered to celebrate Colliers Primary School being named a National Blue Ribbon School by the U.S. Department of Education and Principal Jo-Ellen Connelly receiving the Terrel H. Bell Award for outstanding school leadership. Among those on hand were U.S. Sen. Shelley Moore Capito, R-W.Va.; and state Sen. Ryan Weld, R-Wellsburg, who noted the hard work and teamwork involved in achieving the honor; as well as Brooke board of education member Pam Dudley; former Colliers staff; and the Brooke Bruin mascot and pupils, who presented essays on the award’s meaning, songs and poems. The school’s staff includes Connolly, Samantha McCoy, Jessica Yarter, Penny Foose, Zena Trimmer, Heather VanScoy, Arah Barker, Dianna Cornett, Shanah Perrone, Dana Stoll, Kristen Malinowski, Kimberly Rager, Lori Robey, Elaine Merriner, Kelly Lumbatis and Jason Williamson.

— Contributed