Tuesday’s election turnout expected to be low

STEUBENVILLE – Polls will be open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. Tuesday for the primary election

Diane Gribble, Jefferson County Board of Elections director, said she expects only about 28 percent of the registered voters to cast ballots in the primary election.

Even with the expected low voter turnout, Gribble said results may not be available until well after midnight. She said the Ohio Secretary of State’s office is requiring counties to upload ballot counts to the state throughout the evening. Larger counties have to update the results every 15 minutes. Jefferson County will have to stop tabulations and update results every 30 minutes.

There are several contested races and issues on the ballot.

There are contested Democratic primaries for governor, county auditor and common pleas court judge.

Voters also will decide a proposed constitutional amendment to continue funding for Ohio Public Works Commission projects throughout the state. The projects will be funded through the sale of state bonds. Jefferson County has received millions of dollars for road, bridge and other projects.

There are two school levies on the ballot. Edison Local School District has an additional 5.9 mills for current expenses, while the Jefferson County Joint Vocational School District has a 0.5-mill renewal for current expenses.

Voters throughout the county will decide on a levy for senior citizen services through Prime Time. It is a 1-mill renewal and an additional 0.2 mill.

Wintersville has a renewal of 2 mills for fire protection and emergency medical services.

Voters in Tiltonsville, Yorkville and Cross Creek Township, except Wintersville and New Alexandria, will vote on whether to form an electric aggregation district. Cross Creek also has a natural gas aggregation issue.

Wells Township has a replacement levy in the amount of 2 mills for police protection for a continuing period of time.

The board of elections also announced precinct changes.

Cross Creek Precinct has been moved from Kolmont Community Church to the Steubenville Country Club, 413 Lovers Lane. Stark and Linduff precincts were combined with Cross Creek Precinct and will vote at the country club.

Hanna Precinct (Dillonvale Village Building) has been combined with Emerson Precinct and will vote at the Mount Pleasant Fire Department, 119 Oak Drive, Mount Pleasant.

Rayland Precinct will move from the Meadowbrook Church of God to the Rayland Village Building, 195 Main St, Rayland.

Connorville Precinct has been combined with Glen Robbins Precinct and will vote at the Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 4811, 123 Market St, Yorkville.

Also, the filing deadline for independent candidates is 4 p.m. today at the board of elections.