JSWCD to hold annual banquet

WINTERSVILLE – The annual meeting election and banquet for the Jefferson Soil and Water Conservation District will be held Oct. 21 at St. Florian Hall, and four candidates to serve on the board will be voted on, organizers said.

The election process will start that day at 5:45 p.m. and continue until 6:45 p.m.

The candidates are Sharon Finney, Matthew Fomenko, Mark Nelson and Ken Perkins.

– Finney lives on a 100-acre farm in Mount Pleasant Township and they raise grass-fed and deep-bedded pork with their son, Clint. They have been cooperators with JSWCD since 1989 and were named the Conservation Farm Family of the Year and honored at the Farm Science Review in 2001. She is vice chair for the board, active in the Jefferson County Farm Bureau and a minority adviser for the Jefferson Harrison County Farm Service Agency board.

– Fomenko resides in Smithfield Township. He grew up working with his grandparents on the 500-acre Varkony beef farm. He graduated from Hocking College with an associate degree in geographic information systems and global position systems and has been employed at the Cardinal AEP Plant for more than six years as a coal equipment operator. He has been involved with acid mine drainage issues in the county.

– Nelson relocated to Jefferson County in 1987 and resides in Cross Creek Township. He is self-employed and owns Nelson Fine Art and Gifts, which employs 25 people, and he runs a small sawmill. The Nelsons have a hobby farm with a variety of animals. He is a member of the NRA, Steubenville Events Committee, board of the Grand Theater Restoration Project and AIM Crisis Pregnancy Center. His goal is the creation of walking and biking trails in the county.

– Perkins resides in Cross Creek Township. He is president of TriState Financial Services LLC in Steubenville. He is a life member of NRA and ABATE of Ohio, a member of the Trails and Greenways Task Force, Steubenville Revitalization Group, Jefferson County Chamber of Commerce and American Red Cross Jefferson County Chapter. His financial planning has assisted many family farms with estate planning and asset preservation.

Two board of supervisor positions will be filled in the election.

To receive an absentee ballot call or visit the JSWCD office, 587 Bantam Ridge Road, Suite A. The phone number is (740) 264-9790.

Ballots must be cast at the district office no later than 4:30 p.m. on Oct. 21 or cast a ballot at the annual meeting.

Awards to be presented are the conservation farmer of the year, distinguished service award, big tree contest, photo contest winners and acknowledgment of all previous conservation farm family awardees.

There will be hors d’oeuvres at 6 p.m. and dinner will be served at 7 p.m. Highlighted at the dinner will be locally grown meats. The products were purchased from local farmers and growers.

Board officers are Jodee Verhovec, chairman; Finney, vice chair; Dick Franckhauser, treasurer; Charles Cleaver, secretary; and Stephanie Vance, public relations.