Steubenville city school board rehires retirees

STEUBENVILLE – The city school board approved the rehiring of seven retired employees Wednesday night during the July board meeting.

Steubenville High School Principal Shawn Crosier; career based instructor for at-risk students Fred Heatherington; Harding Middle School guidance counselor Janice Cornelius; high school guidance counselor John Lee Gillison; speech therapist Anthony Porco; Joseph Nocera as parent coordinator; and Robert Radakovich as director of administrative services were approved for the school year.

According to Superintendent Mike McVey, the hiring of retired administrators actually saves the school district money.

The board held a lengthy discussion on the need to reduce expenditures after Treasurer Lisa Bruzzese reported the district finished the fiscal year with a $909,311 deficit.

“We are continuing to cut positions through attrition,” said Bruzzese.

Board member Greg Agresta said school officials now are waiting for the final revenue numbers from the state to learn what funding the district will receive.

Board President Edward Littlejohn encouraged his colleagues to consider a strategy to reduce deficit spending.

In other business, the board:

– Approved Thomas Kotsanis as the new principal at East Garfield Elementary school.

– OK’d the resignation of Georgette Mahan, a teacher at East Garfield Elementary, for relocation reasons.

– OK’d the resignation of Brittany Falbo, a high school physics teacher who accepted another position.

– Approved the retirement of Karen Aulet, a Harding Middle school science teacher.

– Approved the employment of Claudia Holmes as a school social educator.

– OK’d a supplemental contract for Albert Macre as assistant band director.

The board also approved several individuals as half-time class size reduction teachers for the 2013-14 school year, including Rachel Colflesh, Meredith Fluharty, Michelle Kalinowski, Doris Locascio, Jennifer Meyer, Tonya Jones, Nella Scaffidi and Jamie Thompson.

The board reviewed and authorized Elizabeth Cutri, Ashley DeFranco, Kate Eskridge, Heather Koehnlein, Tessa Sweeney and Alexis Tonacchio for the certificated teachers’ list in the school district.

Approval was also given by the board to add Jolie Davis, Amanda Johnson, Albert Macre, Jeanne Newman and Julie Paul to the city school substitutes’ list.

In other matters, the board approved the release of three students who are residents of Steubenville City School District to ride an Indian Creek bus to or from Catholic Central High School and Bishop John King Mussio School for the 2013-14 school year.

The board approved the You Be the Chemist program at Harding Middle School in partnership with Barium Chemicals.

The board also approved:

– The student handbooks and payment for the 2013-14 school year.

– Adoption of the Success for All Reading and Math Curriculum for grades pre-kindergarten through sixth and math for grades seventh and eighth for the 2013-14 school year.

– Purchase of the First Tee National School program for the 2013-14 school year in the amount of $2,600.00.

– Entering into contract with other school districts for the purpose of serving low incidence handicapped children who are not legal residents of Steubenville City School District for the 2013-14 school year;

– Entering into contract with Easter Seals for an Occupational Therapy and Speech Therapy services for the 2013-14 school year for 10 hours per week at a price of $50 per hour.

– Membership in Steubenville Lions and Rotary clubs for the 2013-14 school year and approved membership in the Jefferson County Chamber of Commerce for the 2013-14 school year at a cost of $215.

– Authorization to contract with OME-RESA for Network Equipment Maintenance effective today through July 31, 2014, in the amount of $2,891.90.

– The purchase of a gas convection steamer for Steubenville High School cafeteria in the amount of $14,200.

– A donation from Fort Steuben Maintenance in the amount of $3,400 for the Steubenville Big Red Football Program.

– The resignation of Charles Kokiko, curriculum director, who accepted a position with the Jefferson County Educational Service Center.

– Eric Bentley as an interpreter for the hearing impaired, Mario Costantini as a football assistant and Maria Crownover as cafeteria manager;

– Albert Alston, Jazmin Dokes and Deyzha Yates for the Big Red Works program, while Nate Carroll, Alexis Carroll, Jaytez Johnson and LaShauna Wilson were approved to work in the cafeteria programs.