Voters head to polls Tuesday

STEUBENVILLE – Polls will be open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. for Tuesday’s primary election.

City precincts have been redrawn since the last election, and many precincts were combined. Six precincts were eliminated. The board of elections has sent mailings to all registered voters in the city informing them of the precinct changes.

Steubenville Precincts 6-2 and 6-3 will vote at the Steubenville Country Club, 413 Lovers Lane. Those two precincts were voting at Starkdale Church, 4600 Sunset Blvd.

There will be only two contested primary races in Steubenville.

Democrats Michael R. Johnson of 2080 Eve Drive and Lori A. Mason of 126 Langley Ave. will square off for the 2nd Ward council seat.

Democrats Robert M. Chapman of 123 Aberdeen Road, Daniel Thorne Jr. of 309 Buena Vista Blvd. and Bob Villamagna of 125 Marion Place are on the ballot for the 6th Ward council seat.

Voters also will make decisions on three local school levies:

– Jefferson County Joint Vocational School, additional, 1 mill for current expenses, purchasing equipment or buildings and for building improvements, seven years.

– Buckeye Local School District, additional, 2.1 mills for emergency requirements for five years.

– Indian Creek Local School District, bond amount of $23.5 million, 3.5 mills for 37 years for constructing a new high school and for improvements at other district buildings .

Mingo Junction voters also will decide on an electric aggregation issue. Under the program, the village can ban together to negotiate electricity rates.

John Ney, an energy consultant with World Energy, said the program could result in a savings of $170 a year for the average customer.