Buckeye Local presents honors

CONNORVILLE – Buckeye Local High School seniors marched solemnly into the school theater for the last time Thursday to hear of the honors and scholarships they had earned, with the total amount of scholarships well over $100,000.

Coy Sudvary, principal, served as emcee, and told the seniors, “It was a great pleasure to recognize such an outstanding class. and your hard work has finally came to fruition. I want to thank your parents for the fine job they have done as well.”

In the awarding of academic honorees and scholarships, Taryn Tonkovich received the Hesske Family Award of $100,

OAPSE $200 scholarships were presented to Marisa Herrlein, John Rozenek, Boyd Walker, Nathan Kirk and Tessa Morgan.

The Leon Berze Memorial scholarship of $500 was presented to Tre McGee.

The Jefferson County Farm Bureau scholarship of $500 was presented by a former Buckeye Local teacher, Jeanne Roberts, to John Rozenek.

The auxiliary of Wheeling Hospital presented scholarships of $1,000 for four years to Trevor Sebring who had 155 hours of volunteer work recorded at the hospital; and Carissa Koleski, with 150 hours of volunteer work at the hospital.

The Buckeye Local Board of Education $500 scholarship was presented to Trevor Sebring.

The Steven Strupe Memorial Scholarship was presented by Ken Perkins and Jean Strupe, grandmother of Steven. This is the sixth scholarship presented since Steven Strupe’s 2005 death in a motorcycle accident, and Perkins said each student chosen over the years had completed college. The scholarship money is raised through motorcycle fundraisers. Danielle Smith received the $1,000 scholarship.

The Eastern Gateway Community College scholarship, presented by Ann Reynolds, was awarded to Veronica Smith in the amount of $8,500.

The U.S. Army Reserve scholarship of $60,416 was presented to Matt Frakes for college after serving. The presenter told the young people that only 30 percent of the population is qualified for the military and only about 1 percent serve.

The Ohio University Eastern scholarships presented went to Kayla Fillipovich, Madalyn Kimble, Lucas Ostojich, Kaylee DeCesare, Tiana Johnson, Richard Sempkowski, Trifiny Travis and Brian Zeroski.

The Nathan W. Finney Memorial scholarship was presented by Rachel Finney and Hiliary Lucki, sisters of the former Buckeye Local graduate who went into the military. Boyd Walker received the scholarship.

The Steven Dobranetski scholarship was presented to Chayse Staten.

Two $5,000 scholarships were presented by the Kontogiannis family to Blythe Peterson and Caleb Agnew.

The Warren Township Lions Club presented a $500 scholarship to Haleigh Poch.

The Lucas Memorial scholarship of $1,000 went to John Rozenek.

Ralph Nickoson, president of the Brilliant Lions Club, presented two $250 scholarships to Andrew Westfall and Holly Tester.

The $1,000 Robert Dalrymple Memorial scholarship was presented to Holly Tester.

The Jessica Marie Mayle Memorial Volleyball scholarships were presented to Kayla Fillipovich, Rebecca Rector, Kaylee DeCesare and Amy Balk.

The Darren L. Owens scholarship, a 1980 graduate of Buckeye North High School, was presented to Ryan Ford.

Mount Pleasant High School Alumni Association scholarships of $1,000 each were presented to Boyd Walker, Marisa Herrlein, Rebecca Rector and John Rozenek.

The Buckeye Local Classroom Teacher Association scholarship of $500 was presented to Caleb Agnew.

Two $250 Red Cross scholarships were presented to Trevor Sebring and Jonathan Roth.

The Alpha Delta Kappa scholarships of $500 each were presented to Tasha Dale and Kaylee DeCesare.

Touchdown Club scholarships went to Shane Duncan, Mitchel Telek and Brian Zeroski.

OHSAA $250 athletic awards were presented in the following categories: OHSAA athletic award, Shane Duncan and Kayla Fillipovich; Archie Griffin award, Shane Duncan and Amy Balk; courageous student award, Joe Battliochi; and OHSAA sportsman and ethic award, Taryn Tonkovich and Brian Zeroski.

The Edward Stanko Memorial scholarship of $250 was presented to Kayla Fillipovich.

Three $750 Dillonvale Alumni scholarships were presented to Miranda Harbourt, Madalyn Kimble and Mitchel Telek.

A $2,000 Bill Mazeroski scholarship, to an athlete who had two varsity letters in baseball or softball and a letter in another sport, was presented to Amy Balk.

A $500 Special Friends scholarship, donated by unidentified sponsors, was awarded to Tiffany Travis.

A Doyle R. Weldon Memorial Band $250 scholarship went to Boyd Walker.

The Caroline J. Pietrangelo scholarship of $500 was presented to Tasha Dale.

Charles M. and Thelma M. Pugliese Charitable Foundation scholarships, $500 each, were presented to John Rozenek, Tasha Dale, Madalyn Kimble and Shane Duncan.

The Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 4811 scholarships of $500 each were presented to Richard Sempkowski and Boyd Walker.

A Wal-Mart Dependent scholarship award of $13,000 was presented to Andy Stock.

The Pepsi Cola $500 scholarship went to Courtney Winland.

Four-year perfect attendance $200 scholarship went to Michael Sempkowski.