Board talks Wayne closure, levy

MINGO JUNCTION – Jeff Bonecutter, a Wayne Elementary School parent, talked with members of the Indian Creek Local school board Thursday night concerning the closure of the building at the end of the year.

School Board President Bob Smith addressed Bonecutter.

“Your children will be welcome with open arms at Wintersville Elementary and we will make sure that we provide adequate transportation,” he began. “The decision to close the building is for the betterment of the district and the education of these children.”

Smith mentioned a plethora of misinformation has been spread regarding the closure.

“We are being honest with the parents and community and we are not trying to hide any information from you,” he said. “I have reviewed the numbers multiple times and closing Wayne Elementary school will save the district close to $400,000, not $70,000 as some people believe. Once the exact numbers are sorted out, we will share that information as well.

“I have also been hearing that the utilization rates for the schools will be around 97 percent, which is also untrue,” he continued. “That information from the state auditor was presented before we moved the fifth- and sixth-graders to the middle school. We have room for growth in our buildings. The only building in the district that will be close to full capacity will be the middle school, but that is the building that we want to maximize the most because it is the most modern facility in the district.”

Smith also told Bonecutter that campaigning against the levy is basically campaigning against the children.

“If you don’t like the school board members, that’s understandable and eventually you have make the decision to have us removed,” he said. “However, continuing to vote against these levies isn’t a vote against anything but the future of these children. I understand if you have to vote against a levy if you’re on a fixed income, however, to vote against a levy based on a board decision is sad.”

In other business, the board:

– Heard from members of GeoStar regarding consortiums for gas, electric and utility services for the district.

– Entered into an agreement with Franciscan University of Steubenville to provide field experience and student teaching field-based/clinical experiences to education students during the 2013-14 school year.

– Approved the resignation requests of the following individuals: Norm Bogard, custodian; Linda Howell, bus driver; Abraham Prades-Mengibar, high school Spanish teacher; Lois Rizzo, elementary teacher; Lynn Mikesell, elementary special education teacher; David Smuck, middle school language arts teacher; and Terri Starkey, high school language arts teacher.

– Agreed upon supplemental personal service contracts for the following individuals: Todd Mazzaferro, varsity football assistant coach; Rich Morelli, ninth-grade boys basketball coach; Richie Crowe, varsity baseball assistant coach; Doug Knight, varsity wrestling assistant coach; Ed Fithen, seventh-grade boys basketball coach; Clay Edgerly, eighth-grade boys basketball coach; Mary Ann Edgerly, seventh-grade volleyball coach; Ron Tweedy, seventh-grade girls basketball coach; Tyler Harris, eighth-grade girls basketball coach; Lori Orbin, middle school track coach; Trent Starkey, middle school wrestling assistant coach; Tiffany Connor, cheering assistant coach; and Eric Zalenski, high school assistant band director.

– Approved the employment of the following certificated/licensed individuals: Joseph Dunlevy, high school athletic director, eighth-grade football coach and varsity boys basketball head coach; Erin DeSantis, varsity girls basketball head coach; David Kell, high school assistant athletic director and varsity baseball assistant coach; Brandon Pendleton, varsity wrestling head coach and high school environ-thon adviser; Brant Starkey, middle school head wrestling coach; George Lucas, ninth-grade football coach and varsity boys basketball assistant coach; Joseph Hammack, varsity football and baseball assistant coach; Sean Grinch, varsity football and wrestling assistant coach; Angela Penner, varsity softball head coach; Bernadine Edgerly, eighth-grade volleyball coach, middle school SADD adviser and middle school yearbook adviser; Megan Evans, high school SADD adviser and ninth-grade class adviser; Linda Kolbus, 10th-grade class adviser; Julie Robinson, high school Key Club adviser and high school future educators of America adviser; Sarah Houser, high school student council adviser and 11th-grade class adviser; Jennifer Belt, high school Key Club assistant; James Maul, 12th-grade class adviser; Dawn Carson, district START coordinator; Cathy DiBenedetto, middle school junior honor society; Patty Dalesio, high school national honor society and foreign language club adviser; Georgia Pavlic, Destination Imagination adviser; David Moffat, high school newspaper adviser, district webmaster and high school yearbook adviser; Michele Fabbro, closer look adviser, middle school newspaper adviser and middle school Key Club adviser; Don Llewellyn, high school band director; Kimberly Howell, middle school band director; and Kent Howell, high school assistant band director.

– Approved Sharon Ledakis and Joan McKitrick on the classified substitute list.

– Approved employment of the following individuals: Carol Sczurba and Heather Brown, bus driver; and Toni Veltz and Theresa Paterra, intervention teachers.

– Approved Mitch Hukill as a volunteer baseball coach for the 2013-14 school year.

– Announced the senior awards banquet will be held at 6:30 p.m. Tuesday at St. Florian Hall and graduation will be held at 7 p.m. Friday at the middle school.