Youth Leadership graduates 29

WEIRTON – Close to 30 local high school sophomores are taking their next steps toward a possible future as business and community leaders today after completing the Youth Leadership Weirton program.

The 29 students from Weir, Madonna, Brooke and Oak Glen have been participating in the program since September, developing skills such as teamwork, ethics and conflict resolution to give them a taste of issues they may face in the business world.

Youth Leadership Weirton is organized each year by the Weirton Area Chamber of Commerce.

“As students, you should be proud of your accomplishments,” Chamber President Brenda Mull said while welcoming the students and their families Thursday.

The class took part in five sessions, beginning Sept. 18 with a lesson in teamwork at the Challenger Center at Wheeling Jesuit University. The final session was a Simulated Society exercise in February.

Other sessions included Integrity in October, Passion in November and Vision in January.

Carole Scheerbaum, WVU Extension agent for Hancock County who volunteered for many of the sessions, explained she has assisted with Youth Leadership since it began more than 15 years ago.

“It’s always such a pleasure to watch them work together and interact,” Scheerbaum said. “I am very proud of all of you.”

She asked the class about the lessons they will take away from their experiences, with many reflecting on the importance of teamwork, compromise, knowing how to get beyond differences and how to listen to the opinions of others.

Graduating students include Taylor Allison, Oak Glen; Morganne Baranski, Weir; Anthony Basil, Madonna; Nathanial Bennett, Oak Glen; Kayla Campos, Oak Glen; Michael Curtis, Weir; Marissa Davis, Oak Glen; Morgan Duerr, Madonna; Erin Fields, Oak Glen; Emily Fournier, Madonna; Natalie Fowler, Brooke; Anne Frankovitch, Madonna; Kacey Glaspell, Madonna; Paraag Gupta, Brooke; Mackensey Kohout, Brooke; Gabrielle Kotten, Madonna; Jentzen Kowcheck, Brooke; Madison Kranis, Oak Glen; Christen Mangano, Oak Glen; Alex McFarland, Weir; Abigail Mercer, Oak Glen; Bryan Phillips, Weir; Isabella Preston, Brooke; Amanda Pulice, Madonna; Kylie Sellman, Brooke; Domenic Silvestri, Madonna; Emily Stuck, Brooke; Jordan Swartzmiller, Weir; and Jessica Wayne, Brooke.