Indian Creek students honored at academic letter breakfast

WINTERSVILLE – Indian Creek High School began its 2013 awards season Thursday during the annual academic letter breakfast.

According to Jim Maul, school guidance counselor, the academic letter is a high honor to obtain.

“Students must complete three objectives in order to obtain this award,” he explained. “They must accomplish a minimum of 45 hours of community service, they must maintain a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher or have been on the honor roll for the first two trimesters of the school year and they must present a letter of recommendation with their application.”

Maul also noted that students who do not meet the honor roll/GPA but complete the community service hours receive a community service award.

First-year award winners included freshmen, Cheyanne Allan, Justin Bare, Samantha Byrd, Bethany Davis, Cheyenne Bodnar, James Cable, Jonathan Dailey, Allyssa DiPietro, Ashley Durbin, Aaron Foldi, Adrian Greco, Cody Hopkins, Andrew Markja, Lauren Marracino, Tristan McDonald, Brianna Piergallini, Camdyn Starkey, Matthew Thomas, Feliciti Thompson, Harrison Trikones, Gage Turner, Sierra Vahalik, Zachary Wajda, Kyle Weaver and Zachary Williams; sophomores, Cody Adams, Megan Balvin, Madelene Billick, Nolan Burchfield, Chris Carr, Justin Dailey, Marissa Defallo, Shelby Dye, Skylar Dye, Kaleb Everhart-Knowlton, Brianna Hibbits, Kaylee LaRue, Martina Marko, Isabella Nicosia, Madison Sims and Corey Virture; juniors, Cody Durbin, Mallorie Sullivan and Jonathan Woodbury; and seniors, Arianna Cozart and Russell Whanger.

Second-year awards were presented to sophomores, Abby Bevilacqua, Zach Connor, Jonathan Cortez, Zachary Crawford, Emily Crossley, Aaron Eckley, Nicholas Fortunato, Tyler Gaydosh, Abby Greco, Jordan Herald, Max Lewis, Mitch Porter, Madison Rees, Joshua Shield, Brooke Spence, Jacob Sutton, Steven Westlake, Addison Winland and Cole Yeater; juniors, Alyssa Aldridge, Jonathan Davis, Jessica Eckersberg, Adam Freshwater, Kiarra Kamarec, Kylee Lash, Whitney Martin, Alexis Monroe, Nico Treglia, Eli Vaughan and Skylyn Wright; and seniors, Ashley Bolitho, Jared Conn, Isaac Foldi, Jake Mamula, Trevor McDonald, Ashley Renforth and Zoe Weaver.

Students awarded third-year letters included juniors, Sonia Constable, Alexis Fithen, Jessica Furda, Malieka Gurrera, Tamara Hauck, Shannon Kovach, Jasmine Lenko, Kelsey Pool, Kyle Probert, Russell Ratcliffe, Jeanna Scarabino, Kristen Shimko, Andy Srock, Abbie Straughn, Emily Todoroff, Annika Trikones, Hannah Webb, Jocelyn Wolpert and Zachary Williams; and seniors, Frank Kamarec, Alyssa Moran, Lauren Recinella, Macy Santicola and Kristen Summy.

Four-year academic letters were awarded to seniors, Kasey Celestin, Ali Collaros, Paige DeMattio, Taylor Fante, Matt Furda, Corey Jacobs, Megan Markja, Breyanne Mays, Brooke Piergallini, Cassie Sanchez, Hannah Siemer, Karli Wilson, Kennedy Wilson, Shane Winland, Alex Young and Anthony Young.

Community service award winners include Alaina Taylor, Amber Rea and Fernando Prestes.