Nominations being accepted for award

TORONTO – Nominations are being accepted for the 2013 Joseph and Anna Marie Karaffa Award for Excellence in Education.

The $500 award was established in 1997 to recognize the efforts of an outstanding teacher or administrator who creates an environment where teaching and learning is valued. It is presented annually to a current teacher or administrator in the Toronto City Schools.

Prior recipients include Jennifer Dickinson, 2012; Donna McCasland, 2011; Ellen Hughes, 2010; Mary Jo Kuhn, 2009; Lynda Glenn, 2008; Charlene Starr, 2007; Linda Blair, 2006; Linda Antonucci, 2005; Gary Fisher, 2004; Maureen Taggart, 2003; James Ray, 2002; Susan Buckham, 2001; Barbara Carter, 2000; Kirk George, 1999; and Barbara Pritts, 1998.

Nominations are accepted from students, teachers, parents and alumni. They should be submitted to Karaffa Award for Excellence in Education Selection Committee, THSAA, P.O. Box 273, Toronto, OH 43964. Nominations also can be e-mailed to or to with Karaffa Award selection committee in the subject line.

Nominations must be received by May 1 and postmarked by April 27 to be considered for the 2013 award. All nominations should include the nominee’s name, current position in the Toronto City Schools, nominator’s name and reasons for the nomination, according to officials.