Leadership Weirton begins new year

WEIRTON – Some potential future civic leaders took their first steps toward serving the community this weekend with the kickoff of the 2013 class of Leadership Weirton.

The program, offered each year by the Weirton Area Chamber of Commerce, began Friday with a welcome dinner at Undo’s and a SIMSOC exercise Saturday at the Weirton campus of West Virginia Northern Community College.

“This is the 21st year the chamber has sponsored Leadership Weirton,” Chamber President Brenda Mull in welcoming the class Friday.

Relaying quotes from Douglas MacArthur, Dwight Eisenhower and many others, Mull explained there are a variety of opinions as to what leadership involves.

As part of Leadership Weirton, participants will take part in a series of sessions to learn about local government, health services, education, history and culture, and business and economic development.

Mull encouraged the class to take time during the next five months to spend time together, learn about each other and learn about themselves.

“In Leadership Weirton, you will become one and you’ll work together,” she said. “Put your best foot forward. Be really involved.”

Members of this year’s class and their sponsors are: MaryLee Ammon, of Hancock County Savings Bank; Lawrence DeRosa, of West Virginia Northern Community College; DeeAnn Greene-Marszalek, of Melaleuca The Wellness Company; Marisa Marino, of Mountaineer Casino, Racetrack and Resort; MaryLou Martire-Pittman, of Weirton Wal-Mart; Karen Mason, of Hancock County Senior Services; Jennifer McHenry, of Hancock County Savings Bank; Sarah Parsons, of Hancock County Schools; Renee Salkovick, of the City of Weirton; Alecia Sirk, of Top of West Virginia Convention and Visitors Bureau; Patricia Soplinski, of the Weirton Area Chamber of Commerce; P.J. Tokash, of Weirton Geriatric Center; and Danielle Welshans, of Fairfield Inn and Suites.

Coordinators for the class are Will Beaumont, James Honick Jr. and Cindy Kotsch, who were members of the Leadership Weirton Class of 2012. Session advisors are J.J. Bernabei, Patrick Ford, Danny Greathouse, Pam Makricosta and Wayne Neely.