Wellsburg Kiwanis Club honors Key Clubbers

WELLSBURG – The Wellsburg Kiwanis Club recognized members of the Brooke High School Key Club, their youth auxiliary, for the many hours of volunteer work that have earned them President’s Volunteer Service Awards.

Marilyn McGowan, the club’s adviser, said the club overall received the Bronze President’s Volunteer Service Award for collectively putting in 338 hours of community service last year and several members earned gold, silver and bronze awards for their individual efforts.

Brittaney Stapleton and Kylie Toner received gold awards for volunteering 300 hours and 279 hours, respectively. Kayla Bryant received a silver award for her 192 hours of service. And Kayla Davis and Paraag Gupta earned bronze awards for putting in 170 hours and 110 hours, respectively.

McGowan said she believes other members are deserving of the awards but didn’t keep a record of their hours.

The club’s activities included filling Christmas stockings with items for military overseas through the Boatsie’s Boxes organization; volunteering as servers at a spaghetti dinner to benefit Brooke County Library Director Mary Kay Wallace in her battle with cancer; serving as bell ringers for the Salvation Army; and assisting the Wellsburg Kiwanis Club with its apple turnover sale at the Wellsburg Applefest.

The Kiwanis Club also acknowledged Emily Hone as recipient of a $500 scholarship from the group.

The daughter of Rita Johnson and Vaughn Hone Jr., both of Wellsburg, Hone was president of the Key Club and Bruin Leaders and a member of the math, chemistry and Leo clubs and Future Business Leaders of America/Interact.

Her various honors include Elks Teen of the Month, Outstanding Student in Human Anatomy and bronze, silver and gold academic achievement awards. As a student in West Virginia University’s Honors College program, she is majoring in immunology and medical microbiology and minoring in forensics.

Certificates of appreciation were prepared and presented for the following members for their outstanding attendance: Rhiannon Macom and Stapleton, who had perfect attendance; Hone, Drew Garrett, Maria Lombardi, Alisha Wells, Devon Ansell, Amanda Brown, Bryant, Brad Combs, David Hardisty, Brittney Hawken, Taylor Pannett, Olivia Sabatino and Ty Sicurrella.

Recognition also was given to all of the Key Club’s leaders for the 2013-14 school year and its newly elected leaders.

The 2013-14 school year were: Hone, president; Cassidy Bland, vice president; Devon Ansell, secretary; Stapleton, treasurer; and Kristian Slavik, editor.

Leading the group in the fall will be Stapleton, as president; Olivia Sabatino, as vice president; Maria Lombardi, as secretary; Gupta, as treasurer; and Abbi Yachini as editor.

Eric Fithyan, president of the Kiwanis Club, praised the club for its efforts and McGowan for her leadership, noting she was challenged this year with many weather-related school cancellations that left less time for the group to meet.

Fithyan encouraged the youth to become involved in Kiwanis clubs when they become adults. He said he was a district lieutenant governor of Key Club when he attended Brooke and the experience helped prepare him for owning and and operating a business.