Women’s golf news


The Dyer Ladies League hosted its fourth-annual Ryder Cup mini guest day on May 20.

The format was split between a best ball, alternate shot and a scramble using two women teams.

After golf the ladies enjoyed a pizza party and awards.

Tournament chairmen were Paula Hope, Vickie Grant and Mary Arehart.

The registration table was headed by Cindy Montgomery, Ann Eroshevich and Tammy Cox.

Desserts were provided by Patty Filak, Mary Arehart and Betty Kelly.

Margaret’s Cafe donated gift certificates for the proximity prizes.

East Liverpool City Hospital/River Valley Health Partners donated favor packets for each golfer.

The next major event the ladies league will be hosting is “The Firecracker” open tournament on July 1.

Winners A Flight:

First-place team: Paula Hope, Mary Ann Bainbridge

Second-place team: Cindy Montgomery, Teri Barkley

Winners B Flight:

First-place team: Debbie Phillippi, Diana Adams

Second-place team: Mary Arehart, Theresa Metcalf

Closest to pin hole No. 5: Paula Hope

Closest to pin in two hole No. 6: Kathy Sapp

50-50 drawing: Paula Hope



The Mountaineer Women’s 9-Hole League had their first scramble of the year on May 19. Payouts for each team member were $15 for first place; $10 for second place; and $5 for third place.

Winners were:

First place: Kathi Moore, Erikka Burrachio, Signa Findlay and Mary Kay Schuetz

Second place: Teri Barkley, Sharon Coleman and Judy Sorrenti

Third place: Patty Filak, Clondell Barkley, Dorothy Baier and Patti Powelson

50/50: Patty Gerlando

Chip-In: Signa Findlay on No. 10 and Patti Powelson on No.18

The game for next Monday will be 2 Free Putts which will be played on the first nine.



The Mountaineer Women’s 18-Hole Golf League played a low gross/low net event on May 20.

Low gross winners were Jan Torrance, first place and Elaine Minda, second place. Winners for the low net game were Cathy Ralston, first place, with Marilyn Kenny placing second.

Closest to the pin on hole No. 5 was Torrance and longest putt made on hole No.13 was Ralston. Closest to the pin on hole No. 17 was almost won by Kenny when golfers on an adjacent hole reported her ball missed going in the hole by about an inch and waved good-bye as it rolled off the green. There will be a carryover on hole No. 17 next week.

Anyone interested in joining the league can show up on Thursday mornings by 8 a.m. Dues for the season are $25.

Women’s golf news


Winners at the Dyer Ladies League for May 13, Throw out 2 worst holes were:

A flight: Cindy Montgmery

B flight: Patty Filak

C flight: Sharon Coleman

Proximity: Kathy Sapp

50-50 drawing: Sharon Coleman

Play Chairmen: Cindy Montgomery, Kathy Sapp


May 12 play results

Game: N.O.S.E.

Winners: Mary Beth Arlia, first; Patty Gerlando, second; and Signa Findlay, third.

Chip-ins: Donna Burch on No. 2; Clondell Barkley on No. 6; and Patty Filak on No. 9.

Birdies: Patti Powellson on No. 5 and 6

50/50: Clondell Barkley

May 19 Game: Scramble, Officers Treat


The Women’s Golf Association started the season with “Throw out worst hole on each 9.” Winners for this event were: Janet Stukins, first place; Patty Filak, second place; and Janice Torrance, third place.

Torrance also birdied No. 9. Closest to the pin on No. 5 went to Torrance while Filak won longest putt made on No. 17.

Since no one won the closest to the pin on No.17, there will be a carryover.

Anyone interested in joining the league can show up on Thursday mornings by 8 a.m. Dues for the season are $25.


In May 8 play, the Spring Hills Ladies Golf League played the game N.O.S.E. with the holes 1, 6, 7, 8 and 9 being counted for the score.

Neysa McCart won in A flight, Ann Eroshevich won in B flight, and Patty Gerlando won in C flight. Cindy Montgomery had long drive in A flight; Linda Caputo in B flight; and Eleanor Kindsvatter in C flight.

Marge Alpino won low putts, and Kindsvatter won the 50/50.

A meeting and luncheon was held after golf. Three new members were welcomed – Carmella Wallace, Kathi Moore and Pat Carey.

The next game was to be May 15. Anyone wanting to golf needs to call the club house by 4 p.m. to sign up.


A mystery hole tournament was the weekly event played by the Steubenville Country Club Women’s Golf Association.

After tee-off, the pro shop selected nine holes which counted for scoring, and one half handicap was used to determine the winners.

In the first flight, Marilyn Kenny and Dianna Adams tied for first place with Kenny winning putts. Winners in the second flight were Shelle Pentes, first place and putts, and Charlene Freshwater, second place.

In the nine-hole group, Dotty Tegano took first place and putts with DeeDee Scugoza taking second place.

Chairmen for May are Carole Peterson and Renee Morelli for the 18-hole golfers and Dotty Tegano for the nine-hole golfers.

This week’s event will be low gross and low net in flights. It also will be the opening round of the President’s Cup Tourrnament, a four-week event where the winner is the golfer with the best three of four net scores.

Golfers should report to the Pro Shop by 9:30 a.m. for a 10 a.m. start.

Women’s golf news


Winners of the Dyer Ladies League opening day, two-woman scramble held May 6 are as follows:

First-place team: Cindy Montgomery, Betty Kelly; and second-place team: Mary Arehart, Donna Burch

Proximity: Mary Alice Meyer

50/50 drawing: Lucy Karaan

Play chairmen: Vickie Grant, Paula Hope

President Mary Arehart began with a brief meeting to discuss upcoming events for the 2014 golf season, including the member/guest Ryder Cup scheduled for May 20.

The league welcomed two new members in Donna Burch and Sheila Robinson.

Desserts were provided by Vickie Grant and Cindy Montgomery.



May 5 results:

In the first game of the year, the players were permitted three mulligans as a warm-up for the weeks to come. Winners were:

First place: Mary Beth Arlia; second place, Patty Filak; and third place, Erin Ankrum

Chip-in: Kathi Moore

50/50: Clondell Barkley

Any new players wanting to join the league should be at Woodview by 5 p.m. Monday. Dues are $40, which cover the winnings, scrambles and end-of-year awards and dinner. The price to play remains the same as last year. Questions can be directed by calling or texting to (304) 670-8754.