Mingo Knights present awards

May 2 marked the 57th anniversary past grand knights and awards dinner held by the Mingo Knights of Columbus Monsignor Joseph F. Dooley Council No. 4361 at the Mingo Knights of Columbus Hall.

Grand Knight Shawn Zarych welcomed those in attendance and presented the following awards:

— Knight of the Year: Stephen J. Daley.

— Lady of the Year: Mary Ellen Redington.

— Family of the Year: Martin J. Cooke and wife, Melissa, and daughter Katie.

— Youth of the Year: Luke J. Potenzini.

— Chaplain of the Year: The Rev. James Dunfee, who gave the invocation.

— Blue Coat of the Year: Shawn Scott of the Steubenville Police Department.

— Volunteer of the Year: Kenneth Mazik.

— Larry B. Campbell Merit Award: Zimnox Coal Co., represented by Michele Barnes.

John Balzano served as the “king of ceremonies” with Guido Evangelista, deputy grand knight, leading the audience in the pledge of allegiance and Jefferson County Commissioner Tom Graham, the national anthem.

The awards were presented following dinner served by Ohio Catering’s Leigh and Ray Johnson.

Past grand knights were introduced by Balzano, including Baci Carpico, 1964-66 and 2008-09 and also a past state deputy, 1995-97; Zarych, 2005-07 and 2010 to present; John Daley, 1992-94; Francis DiLoreto, 1990-92; Bill DellaPenna, 1985-87; and Ed Treglia, 1970-72.

Various officials offered comments, including Mayor John “Wiz” Fabian who makes it his daily practice to single out the reasons why he’s proud to call Mingo home, the Knights being one of the top reasons.

Bob Byers, state advocate, brought greetings on behalf of Kenneth Girt, state deputy, reminding members that they are part of the largest Catholic family organization in the world, something of which to be proud.

Erol Hosdil, district deputy 48, applauded the council for having brought in five new members.

Carpico reminded his fellow Knights of all the “great things” the Knights do on the state and local level, including the Measure Up Campaign that helps individuals with developmental disabilities; the Pennies for Heaven program that supports seminarians; and the Christopher Fund that provides scholarships to students in Catholic schools.

At the evening’s end, Daley pointed out how much work Zarych does at the hall. “He is a godsend to the building,” Daley said.

Deacon Randall F. Redington gave the benediction.

DellaPenna won the 50-50 drawing. Door prize winners were Sophie Schoolcraft, Regetta Allen, Pat Giuliani, Susie Pierro, Dorothy Pashke and Melissa Cooke.