Annual art show winners announced

It’s not too late to feast your eyes on the entries that make up the 68th-annual Steubenville Art Association spring exhibit at Eastern Gateway Community College, Steubenville, which runs through Saturday.

The exhibit will be open to the public from 1 p.m. to 7 p.m. weekdays and noon to 4 p.m. Saturday. While some pieces of art are for display only, many works are available for purchase.

The SAA held its awards ceremony at EGCC on May 3 with Laura Meeks, college president, offering welcoming remarks and Jeanne D’Anniballe, publicity chairman, serving as master of ceremonies.

Jim Watson is chairman of the spring show held in memory of Barbara Brooks Michl, who died April 2. Michl was a lifetime member of the art association who over the years held many offices and chairs numerous events, according to the program booklet.

Christopher Leeper was the juror for the show where Diana Holcombe won Best of Show honors with her pastel drawing “Aztec Indian.” In the program booklet, Leeper notes, “This painting stood out right away because of the subject matter. It was colorful and had an interesting design. Only later, when I looked at it closely did I understand it as a Best of Show image. The beauty here is the contrast of intense color and the subtlety of reflected light and soft shadows. It is a good mix of interesting color, value and textures.”

Other winners were:

MERIT?AWARD: Bob Sako, Bob Martin, April Waltz, Lynn Anderson, Michell Mulligan, Robert Watson and Mary Sis Keenan.

HONORABLE?MENTION: Barbara Bonenberger, Kim Hohlmayer, Paula Siebieda, Ada Clark, Mary Anne Reese and Stephen Glykas.

SPECIAL?AWARDS: Jessie Lovano, Judith Minder, Virginia Price; and Jim Watson.

Each year the art association sponsors scholarships to area high school seniors who will continue their education and major in the field of art. This year’s first-place winner is Anna Jo Nardo of Union Local High School, the recipient of a $700 scholarship, and Marcello Biondillo of Madonna High School, second-place winner and recipient of a $300 scholarship. Both plan to major in art at West Virginia University.

The art association was formed 68 years ago, having been incorporated on April 25, 1963, and always welcomes new members among individuals who have an interest in art of any kind.

Anne Wagner is president of the association, with other officers being, in addition to Watson and D’Anniballe, Marnee Muhleman, vice president; Suzan June, treasurer; Kim Hohlmayer, recording secretary; Arlene MacQuown, corresponding secretary; and Patty Westfall, scholarship chairman.

Meetings are held at Historic Fort Steuben, 120 S. Third St., Steubenville. For information, call (740) 264-2959.