DAR recognizes contest winners

The Fort Steuben Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution met March 8 at the Best Western Plus University Inn in Steubenville.

Regent Nancy Valles presided with opening ceremonies led by Mary Wood, Second Vice Regent Denese White, Parliamentarian Carol Skerbetz and Chaplain Wadeanne Nardo.

Following a luncheon, Valles recognized guests and Good Citizen contest and the American History contest winners. Seniors from 10 local high schools participated in the contests.

Linda Hohenshil and Marcia Cable served as Good Citizen contest co-chairs. Hohenshil introduced the winners and presented them with certificates and pins. First-, second-, and third-place winners also received monetary awards.

The winners included: first place, Rain Johns, Toronto High School; second place, Alisandra Welch, Weirton Madonna High School; third place, Carmela Biasi, Steubenville High School; and honorable mention, Katelyn Wilson, Central Catholic High School; Sydney Johnson, Brooke High School; Barbara Hendricks, Buckeye High School; Blaine Cline, Edison High School; Cody Durbin, Indian Creek High School; and Daniel Morgan, Weir High School.

Diane Bowers, American History contest chair, announced the winners and presented certificates, bronze medals and monetary awards. Those students were Devan Mynes, Oak Glen High School; Madeline Williamson, Edison High School; and Daniel Morgan, Weir High School.

The business meeting followed the program. The Fort Steuben Chapter welcomed new member Tammy Kotyk. Nardo conducted the induction ceremony for Kotyk, who had several family members in attendance.

Prospective members Patti D’Aurora and Shirley Farrow were introduced.

Reports were given by Recording Secretary Vickie Joseph and Treasurer Beverly Livingston.

First Vice Regent Karen Blanc reminded members to record their service hours for the Celebrate America project and also to report the total to her. Blanc said the 2013 national goal for 1 million hours was far exceeded. In 2013 NSDAR members reported nearly 3.5 million service hours. The new national goal for 2014 is 10 million service hours.

Joseph presented the Women’s Issues topic, International Women’s Day 2014. The theme was “Inspiring Change.”

Junior American Contest Chair JoAnn Morrison said the chapter had 11 student winners from Harding Middle School who will be invited to attend the NSDAR Ohio State Conference this month in Columbus. The local winners are Brooklyn Jones, Haelee Jenkens, Grace Dillon and Jordan Sarjeant, seventh grade banner; Carlo Biasi, seventh-grade stamp; Katlin Rayl, Lena Jolly and Veronica Kaine, eighth- grade banner; Chardonnay Sanders, eighth-grade poster; Elizabeth Anderson, eighth-grade stamp; and Aiyanna Glynn, eighth-grade short story.

Members were reminded that there will be a Spring Fling white elephant sale at the April meeting. CAMEO members were given a new address to send their dues checks payable to the OSDAR state treasurer.

The OSDAR state conference will be held March 28-30 at the Columbus Airport Marriott with Valles and Morrison attending. All members are welcome and encouraged to attend.

The Continental Congress will be held June 25-29 in Washington, D.C. Members were asked to call Valles if they are interested in attending. Credentials need to be sent in by April 15.

DAR Schools committee is planning a bus trip to visit four of the DAR-supported schools, including Tamassee School in Tamassee, S.C., Kate Duncan Smith School in Grant, Ala., Hindman Settlement in Hindman, Ky., and Berry College in Berry, Ga., Sept. 24-27. The cost for bus and lodging is $425. Information about the schools tour will be available after the state conference.

Nardo gave the benediction.

The next meeting will be held April 12 at the Best Western Plus University Inn. Bonnie Slemmer will be the greeter.