AARP Chapter 3846 elects 2014 officers

WEIRTON – AARP Chapter 3846 President Joann Bugin presided at the November meeting.

Carol Irvine gave the invocation and benediction and led in opening exercises.

Vice President Bettie Williamson introduced the Casey Sisters Dance Group, which presented a Christmas performance.

Milt Fabianich conducted the installation of the 2014 officers, including Bugin as president, Vice President Bettie Williamson, Secretary Barbara Purks and Treasurer Frank Fazio.

Reports included Membership Chair Joyce Dobbs announcement that dues will continue to be collected in December. Sunshine Chair Mary Rose Spano gave a report on cards sent.

Hospitality Chair Kathryn Hardsauk recognized veterans, with Fabianich was recognized as the sole remaining member of the Weirton Last Man’s Club.

Fabianich collected a pair of glasses and two cell phones. Barb McCoy collected $12.15 in the penny jar for the Greater Weirton Area Senior Center.

Reservation Chair Regina Truax announced there were 81 members in attendance and introduced and thanked the telephone committee, which includes Valeria Adamczyk, Patty Beltrame, Viola Blanc, Eva Fabianich, Joann Clark and McCoy.

Truax announced upcoming tours. They include:

May 9-10, Sight and Sound Theatre, Lancaster, Pa.;

May 23-27, New York; and

June 6, Sugar Creek, Ohio.

For information, call Truax at (304) 723-0419.

John Moore and Patsy Verlast won club dinners. Valeria Adamczyk and Patsy Verlast won the 50/25/25 drawing. Dee Krinock won the quilt thrown by Eva Fabianich. Louise Herman won the club check. Jack Cummings, Barbara Visnic, Joann Clark, Jeannette Wetzel, Katy Roshac, Mary Tyson, Virginia Riley and Nancy Tournay won door prizes.

The next meeting will be a Christmas party on Dec. 9.