BPW Club year ends with awards

The closing 2012-13 session of the meeting year for the Ohio Valley Business and Professional Women’s organization included special awards, the installation of officers and the presentation of scholarships.

Held May 21 at the Best Western Plus University Inn in Steubenville, the meeting included congratulations for Phyllis Riccadonna, who was on the threshold of being installed as the state president of BPW.

The mission of the BPW is to provide professional and personal growth opportunities and to promote equity for women in the workplace.

A feature story on Riccadonna in that capacity is in the works.

Ame Taggart was named the Ohio Valley BPW’s Woman of the Year in light of her “hard work throughout the year” with the organization.

Scholarship recipients were: Tiffany Jenca, non-traditional scholarship winner; Anna Vasich, Nike Club, Steubenville High School; and Ali Collaros, traditional scholarship winner.

The Ohio Valley BPW meets the third Tuesday of every month from September through May.

The next meeting will be held Sept. 17 at 6 p.m.

For information, contact Shannon Minch-Hughes by e-mail at shughes@cuf.org or by phone at (740) 283-2531.

The meeting also included the installation of officers, who are Julie Daley, president; Shannon Minch-Hughes, vice president; Mary Lou Jones, secretary; Phyllis Riccadonna, state BPW president; and Sara Provenzano, treasurer.